Joy is within us

In Sanskrit, there are basically four words for happiness

Sukha (Fleeting pleasure), Santosha (Contentment), Mudita (Spiritual Happiness), and Ananda (The Bliss)

Sukha is inseparably linked with its opposite: Dukha, or “suffering.”

This pain-pleasure dichotomy is one of the basic Dvandvas (Conflicts), the pairs of opposites that plague our lives as long as we live in the feeling of being separate from others and the world. Like hot and cold, birth and death, and praise and blame, Sukha (Pleasure) and Dukha (Suffering) inevitably follow each other because when our well-being depends on external conditions, it will always come and go. This problem Buddha noticed, which led him to formulate the first noble truth.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s